Arachniphobia

Thinking back as long as I can remember, I have always had this awful fear of spiders. Prior too living in Florida, I dont remember being so afraid of them, but it’s awful. There were two massive banana spiders (aka: tarantulas)that had spun a web and lived by the shed. They are black and yellow striped and very venomous. The only other tarantula I remember seeing thereafter was a massive black hairy one that drowned in soapy water that the dishes were soaking in.

This all leads into a dream that, just like my dreams of drowning, starts off different but ends the same.

I was a child, somewhere between 6 and 8 years old, and living with my brother and dad in an apartment. The room was well lit with white walls and a sliding glass door. I remember some event happening… something small but bad. I dont know if it was my ball being thrown behind the couch or my brother falling behind it, but what I do remember was needing to go behind the couch myself. I leaned over against the back of the couch for whatever reason it was, and I fell to the floor. The next thing I know I saw spider webs and dust (because most people dont see a need to clean behind it). Then one spider was crawling on me, then two…. the more time passed and I frantically panicked to get out from behind the couch, the more spider came after me. Then red and black centipedes started to join the mix. They were all biting me…. hard. It hurt so bad. I cried and screamed and kicked, but I just couldn’t get up. Climbing back up to get over the couch just wasn’t an option. I was too small and couldn’t reach.

Finally after what felt like forever of being chewed and attacked by spiders, I woke up.

Needless to say this isn’t my favorite dream.

Leave a Reply

