The Sea of Dreams

I found myself standing beside my bed staring out the window on a warm spring morning. Nature was growing towards the sky, and the sun beamed brightly through my window. I could see the road into town that lay just beyond the small patch of lawn in front of the house. A thicket of trees lay just behind the road that barely covered the river that borders into Maine. It was truly a beautiful morning. In the background was the voice of my mother, Anna, who was in the kitchen having a rather one sided conversation. She was talking about how my brother Jamie was coming home from a trip with the local church run boy-scout program today known as Pathfinders. “I need a vacation” I thought to myself with a sense of longing, when no sooner my mother continues on to say “He’s coming home by boat.” “A cruise” I thought, “A cruise! That’s what I need.” Instantly I booked a vacation to some unknown destination with the printed tickets laying before me on the bed. Suddenly, in conjunction with the squeaking of the front door, a familiar voice reaches my ears.

“I’m home” someone shouted. I open my bedroom door to see Jamie. As happy as I was to see him, my attention was quickly diverted when I see this massive two ton ocean liner standing upright upon it’s pointed bottom! Most astonishing of all was the fact that this massive ship was parked behind the family car! “What is that” I exclaimed! “Oh, that’s the boat I came home on.” It was painted from the bottom to a third of the way up in a dull brick red color, with the rest of the ship being a basic white color that was losing it’s gloss from dealing with the harsh ocean sea. To the top center of the ship, I could see a giant steam pipe that was a high shine onyx. I stood in awe of the ship for just a moment  until it broke into a flash of worry that rippled through me from head to toe.

     My mind told me this was also the ship I needed for my trip. “Jamie, I’m supposed to be leaving for a cruise! Is this the ship I need?” “I don’t know” he responds; typical annoying answer from him, but I had no time to drill him with questions. My anxiety skyrocketed as I believed that this was the ship I needed for my trip. If I could get on now, I knew it would work out well. I quickly glanced into my bedroom to see that somehow my small black duffel bag was out on my bed, clothes folded, and neatly tucked inside. All that was missing was the toiletries. I zoomed, raced, and dashed back and forth between the bathroom down the hall and my bedroom, periodically checking out the screen door to see if my ticket to paradise was still there. I grabbed the last two items I needed to be packed – my toothbrush and toothpaste, when just before throwing it in my bag, I again look out the door, and see that the ship was gone. Despair and frustration swelled within me in the blink of an eye. No sooner had the feeling rushed into me when my bare feet took off dashing out the door chasing after the ship, as if they had a mind of their own. When I left I realized I forgot my bag and ticket, but I didn’t care; I have missed one too many awesome plans I’ve made throughout the whole of my world, and for once, I wasn’t going to miss the chance of a lifetime!

     The ship rumbled as it “sailed” up hill against the concrete. No scratch marks were made against the pavement, and the road didn’t crack under the weight either. Between the edges of the road and where the sidewalk begins, I noticed thin plates of steel notched with small rectangles along the center to the left and right side of the road. “This must be how the ship is moving,” I panted, trying my hardest to run up that hill, but my energy was quickly being diverted from my feet to my anxiety, preventing me from going any faster. Suddenly, the ocean liner picked up the pace, and I knew I was in trouble.

The boat reached the top of the hill and turned to the right. I wasn’t too far behind, but not close enough to stop it. To my amazement, as I got to the top of the hill, I see this behemoth of hard work and steel sail away into a sea of darkness – into a yellow painted two car garage! It sailed downward through the garage shrinking as it drifted away.

     All hope seemed lost then. As I stood there longing to make it onto the ship, I noticed two women, both of which were dressed for business. The one on the left was thin, blond haired, and blue eyed with a semi-pale complexion. Her hair was highly glossed and pulled back into a bun. The outfit was a deep blue jacket and knee high skirt with a white shirt underneath. The woman to the left was dressed the same, but was a brunette with long wavy hair. Overall I thought they looked more like airline attendants more than women working for a cruise ship.

     “That ship” I shouted, gasping to catch my breath. “That ship… it was parked outside my house and dropped off my brother, but I also paid to take this cruise. Can I still get on?”. The blonde haired woman smiled gently and said “Yes, but this cruise is meant for women who are expecting only. You know, a chance for mommy and baby to bond. Is this the cruise you’re looking for?” I stopped and thought about this for a moment. On the one hand, I have a beautiful two year old little boy in real life, thereby breaking the essence of the fantasy I was dreaming. On the other hand, my dream is taking place in the last house I lived in before moving out. Chronologically, I mustn’t have had a child. I didn’t know what to say. Should I lie to them? Should I tell the truth? Before I had the chance to answer their question, the two women slowly walked a few feet ahead of me and stopped to chat in private. That’s when things took a turn for the worst.

     Screams were echoed from the house to the right across the street. Then the sound of metal buckling and tearing. Without a moments notice, the garage below my feet, and everything to the right of me was sucked down into a watery grave. That’s when I realized I was on the ship and sinking fast. I held my breath and swam for dear life to get my head above water. My heart was racing as my chest started to pound from my body screaming for breath and life. The weight of the ship below me was pulling me under hard and fast creating a force of suction that I could not escape. I look up while drowning to see rays of light shimmering through the olive green water…. and in that moment, I gave up. I knew my breath was running short. There was no way I could escape the ships grasp. I grimly accepted my fate knowing these frigid waters were my coffin, no one would ever see me again, and I could not escape my time. I hadn’t enough breath to reach the top by now. The world began to fade away until it blacked out.

I woke up gasping for breath and life…. I had been holding my breath again in real life. This isn’t the first time I had done this – oh no. Drowning is a repetitious dream I’ve had since I was a child… eight to be exact. I lay there shaken and covered in a pool of sweat with the urge to kick the covers off – too hot. The moment I did that an extreme chill struck me. I forgot to shut the sliding glass door last night, leaving a small crack for the cold air to slowly travel through.

Leave a Reply

