Forlorn Lover

How long must I still be chained, tied down, and buried by the memories of you. My thoughts of you are soul consuming, and my gaze is hazy from your spell; I see, but never clearly. My strength has been weakened by your lingering blows, and I lack the ability to stand outside myself. I fear my life without you, so I cling to what does not exist. My dreams recollect the fantasia that pulled at the symphony of my soul – without you, my songs turn to silence like a bird trapped in a cage. I need your light, your whisper, your prayer. Your name is a litany that is just barely audible. The heavens have forbidden me from testifying of you, the demon that I am – the angel that you are.

502415

Leave a Reply

