To the Rhythm of the War Drums

“Don’t fret precious I’m here, step away from the window 
Go back to sleep
Safe from pain and truth and choice and other poison devils, 
See, they don’t give a fuck about you, like I do. 

Count the bodies like sheep” ~ A Perfect Circle

858300-guitar_danbo

It seems as if every morning I have a song stuck in my head so obsessively that I HAVE to listen to it just to get it out of my system. Yesterday was Depeche Mode from their Delta album.

It’s like a drug really… if I don’t get my fix, I obsess, and I am a slave to it. I know it’s neurological to some degree; I’ve done a fair and reliable level of research on psychomusicology to understand this. Music and personality theory always fascinated me…. still wish I could pursue this dream of mine…. still, I’m being forced to kick my ass daily to put all of my music on playlists to free up some space on my iphone since I’m running out.

A friend of mine suggested I just get an old ipod since my phone can’t hold it all; that is a REALLY smart decision, but it defeats the purpose of why I bought my smartphone in the first place. I was tired of walking out of the house with an extra item (CD player and headphones), and now I feel like I’m going back to that…. hell, I AM going to go back to it, just with a new ipod. I MUST HAVE MY MUSIC!

Leave a Reply

