The Chasm Exands


Working out of the “love yourself, heal your life” workbook, I feel that chasm again… The expanding of my chest to create space, but the more I feel that space the more I recognize what currently fills that space, and the longing that it calls for. It calls for me to love myself, but also confronts me with the messages I told myself growing up because they wee instilled within me. “Do you deserve to live?” “What are your beliefs?” I’m confronted with just how much “otherness” I live my life by… In church I was told to live for Christ by doing his deeds for others… As a kid I was starved for affection and always worked hard to meet other people’s needs… The moment I ask myself what my beliefs are I’m struck with how much my beliefs were based on making an impact on me but on others. For example if I say “I believe everyone deserves to be treated with respect, I have to take ownership at some point in time and ask myself “do you treat yourself with respect? If so how? If not, why? What’s the emotional impact?”

Finally the stagnancy is breaking as I move forward with this next chapter of healing, but this chasm… This swelling inside me… It’s like a whirlpool surrounded by rocky clods and boulders along some exotic ocean… Odd that it’s such a beautiful place but all I see is terror swirling round and around in those waters. 

Likewise, the girl at the bottom of the well no longer has that dark red and purple aura surrounding her, and light now shines in the well… She smiles at me. I’m not as afraid of her as I once was, but I’ll make my way in soon… Or perhaps, she’ll find her strength and make her way out. Who knows….

Leave a Reply

