Daily Archives: January 15, 2017

The Stillness in my Heart

You know what’s amazing about self-help & healing/therapy? When you connect to the goodness within you, you strive to be a better person… In particular I strive to be a better mom. I change my reactions knowing full well that what I model becomes my child’s internal voice. For an autistic child, how much more of a challenge is it to develop a healthy inner voice with a mom that lives a life of anxiety by example? Daily I work gently with myself to recover what was stolen from me… my femininity, my authenticity, my fragility, and my ability to accept what others could not of who I am, and I use those very key skills which mound themselves to the skill sets of empathy – not functional empathy but genuine empathy, to create a new inner dialogue for myself, and model the health of that dialogue for my son. My mistakes as a parent are my own, even if they may be generational by some extent, because I have the capacity to take ownership of who I am, who I wish to be, and flourish. It’s hard to look inside, and there are some elements that are longer to examine than others, but life is a journey and the choice to grow is my own. I love my life and the opportunities unfolding this year. I’m grateful to those that support and surround me, and keep the circle that surrounds my heart open to others. ❤️